Sunday, December 21, 2008

Won't have much fun in Stalingrad

Winter Storm 08! Don't miss any of the coverage. Live from all parts of the inland Northwest. Car accidents, piles of snow, ....and more car accidents. Don't miss being told how extreme the weather is, how treacherous the driving conditions are. -over and over and over and over again. Pick your station, Q6, KREM2, KXLY4, they are all the same. Each with its "exclusive": tower cam, or incident van, or some such gimmick.
I tend to lean toward Northwest Cable News, as they take highlights from around the region -Portland, Seattle, Spokane, Tri-cities, etc. But as you watch, at first you would think that it was the Puget Sound News channel. Guess it makes sense, because that is where the money is. After a while you may actually see a report from Boise!
I suppose that it is good that there is full coverage. Otherwise we would not know how treacherous and serious the storm is. Out my window, I do see deep snow. But respect the cold, and you should be fine, right? The problem is that the TV is not making up these accidents. We drove into Spokane on the 17th to make it by 0900. On the way in, we saw one car facing the wrong way on Eastbound -90 near Freya. -Lane was closed, etc. On the way back, which was probably 1100, we saw ...more. A new accident on Eastbound 90 near Freya (with lane closure) involving two cars: they had kind of "bumped into" each other. We witnessed a Jeep Wrangler slaloming all the lanes of I-90 just past Argonne. And each of the on-ramps from there until we got off at Pleasant view, had a car off the road. So maybe bloated hysteria is a bit of a good thing. It should keep some people off the road. Still, strange people end up on the road, then off the side in the ditch. The funniest part is that a majority of these vehicles were bought so that they could stay out of the ditch. Like, Explorers, and Suburbans, and trucks. I actually have to chuckle. These people would actually do better with a more sensible car: Outback, or Jetta.
The kids want to build a fort in the snow. They also want to build a snow man. They don't seem to understand that there are different kinds of snow. Guess that is my job to teach them. But they need to be out in it to get the education. So far, they like to go, but I guess since I cannot move that well in the stuff, I cannot be there to show them what they are supposed to do. Anyway, the stuff we have right now is too dry for packing. I can't make a snow man in this stuff unless I use the chunks that the plows slough off the street.
This is not a football day. Even though it may be a Saturday, or bowl day, that is what the kids tell me.

Friday, December 12, 2008

Silly Old Leg-Before-Vicket English Person

I wish winter had come sooner. It is easier to train for nordic skiing when there is snow. Alas, I had to spend my thanksgiving week with the family, and not in a remote isolated neck of the woods with other skiers. Oh, well. Still, we have been gently introduced to winter as the temps slowly dropped, and occasionally we would get some flurries.
The kids love the snow. So far we have not had an icident where they got too cold. They seem to be at the stage where they could roll around in the snow sans clothes, and be happy as clams. We did some sledding. The goal was to get to the "mountain hill" that was "on the hill on the way to the lake". Where we sledded with "our cousins". So, we did some sledding off the tee box of the 10th hole. Interestingly, they wanted to pull the sled while the other sat. They did not want to be the one with the free ride. I guess they will learn.
Ethan also had fun throwing snow -not necessarily snow balls, as he "has not figured that out" yet.
Riles was all about playing a dog in the snow, getting on all fours, sometimes pushing the snow with her head. Seems strange to me.
Both made snow angels ...of a sort. They don't have the getting out of the snow without destroying the angel down yet. I'm glad they are enjoying it.
Now I need to get on my skis. (and I need to get the Ski Shack to finish putting bindings on my race skis)