The dreams I once had, now lay in bed. (I just want to mention a dream I had, because it was a little out of the ordinary) I had a real dream the other night. It was one of those where the parameters are based in reality. In contrast, last night, I dreamt I was either with or one of the characters in Pirates of the Caribbean (Orlando Bloom or Johnny Depp). We were traveling around, sometimes floating, sometimes walking, struggling over Johny's heart in a lantern at the end of a..., like 50' chain. Conversations were not restrained by having to form words, rather there seemed to be more of a telepathic nature to communication. This describes the parameters of most of my dreams. My "real" dream was much more ..."grounded". OK, I was playing soccer with the US national team and we were playing Australia. Sounds pretty grounded right? Oh, and I was running. That is: no chair. So it was not real real, still all the other laws of nature seemed to be in place. I had to move my lips to speak, I had to run, I over ran the ball a couple times and characters remained who they were throughout -nobody morphed into a cat, or some other person. I could even smell the grass. The best part was that I was making mistakes, and it was OK. In other words, I was human. I was not superman. I got tired when I sprinted. My ball handling skills were....maybe a little elevated, but within the realm of reality. I was simply enjoying running around, a part of the game. And then I started getting those "replay" scenarios, and I knew I was waking up. No matter how hard I tried, I woke up. dang. -Not the best way to start a day, mad that I had to wake up.
This endless crutch is never enough.
We have been keeping a rigorous schedule involving the pool....and the pool, and the pool every day. Rileigh's little head-to-concrete episode has not slowed her. These guys are doing well in the pool, and are getting quite confident throughout the 6ft(deepest end) pool. Mostly, they dive for the toypedo's, and they love to race either me or each other for them. In addition, Riles enjoys yelling "cannonball", while she jumps in doing her best cannonball. So far they have met quite a few people at the pool. I would like them to learn a little more about personal space, but it is nice to see them getting to know the neighbors. That and the neighbors seem to be OK with 5 yr olds getting in their space.
We have yet to remove the training wheels, but I think it is only a matter of time. They ride to the pool nearly all the time. Sometimes though, Riles has learned that Mom shows up while we are there. If Sarah drives(which she has done lately because waddling that far is taxing), then it is easier to catch a ride home if there is no bike to load into the van.
Ethan looks forward to the times when I am left with them. He registers these times as video games times. Lego Star Wars I and II are his favorites, followed by Lightning McQueen.
1 comment:
figures there would be code when my translator is out of town.
not sure I have ever had smells in my dreams. although I am certain I don't appreciate the outdoor smells the way you guys do. didn't realize Fall had a smell till Reg came along.
enjoy the pool for me. lots of ladies round these parts in bikinis right now...although they are on the back of a motorcycle.
Post a Comment